coffee isn’t what makes my day good

You ever had a good day? I mean, like, a really GOOD day. Like the one where you get the biggest cinnamon roll at the coffee house, you hit all your green lights, your coworkers and friends tell you how great you did on that thing last week, and you have a really good lunch. Have you had that kind of GOOD day?

Having a good day always seems to be about happiness. I always feel so happy and joyful whenever things seem to go my way (like getting a latte and cinnamon roll). And it’s this feeling of happiness, of joy, that we crave having. Having this perpetuating joy is what makes good days so good.

What if I told you, you could be happy and joyful and have the best day, every week, even every day?

Listen in close, I’ll tell you the secret to having a good day….

Your Attitude


When I was in college, I struggled with issues of self-worth and identity, which led to struggling with depression my senior year. I sought counseling, and it provided a great space for me to process the way I was feeling. One of the best things I took away from those sessions was the idea that mood is a choice.

Yes it’s true, you can’t really choose your emotions. If you’re sad or frustrated or in love, whatever. But what you can choose is how you respond to your feelings. If your friend frustrates you, it’s not their fault if you’re angry or mad at everyone else for the rest of the day. Likewise, you can’t rely on a moment of laughter and joy to carry you through a disappointing day.

You get to choose your mood.

I was reflecting on this idea a few weeks ago. A book by John C Maxwell on attitude has few practical challenges for the reader. One particular challenge intrigued me a lot: “Treat every person you meet this week as the most important person in the world.”

And so I tried that. On base, whenever someone said “hi” to me, I was genuiney interested n how their day was going. I asked how their family was. I di favors for people. I laughed at their jokes and stories. But the best part was I ended up having a really GOOD day. There was nothing in particular that made my day special; no one brouht me surprise donuts, I didn’t have some deep, impactful conversation. I was just really joyful because I wanted others to feel happier than I did.

In his letter to the Phillipians, Paul writes

” Let each of you look not to your own interests, but to the interests of others. Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus, who, being in very nature God,
did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself.” 

Put others before yourself. The secret to having a good day isn’t the universe or God or any one person making it good for you; its your choice of attitude. If you try to make everyone else have a really GOOD day, then your attitude will reflect that joy. If you choose to have a really GOOD attitude, then goodness can only follow. And in turn, I promise that you will have a GOOD day too.

Leave a Reply

